SymProjects Forum

General Category => Show off your build => Topic started by: Jadran on March 26, 2011, 01:04:21 pm

Title: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on March 26, 2011, 01:04:21 pm
A couple of pictures of my cockpit (it is still in the development)

(http://i67.servimg.com/u/f67/16/17/86/37/dsc03814.jpg)

(http://i67.servimg.com/u/f67/16/17/86/37/dsc03815.jpg)

(http://i67.servimg.com/u/f67/16/17/86/37/dsc03810.jpg)

(http://i67.servimg.com/u/f67/16/17/86/37/dsc03811.jpg)

(http://i67.servimg.com/u/f67/16/17/86/37/dsc03812.jpg)

I'll put a movie soon, I persuaded my wife to record  ;D

Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Cristiano on March 26, 2011, 02:14:30 pm
cool.
what car did you get your dashboard from?



Cheers
Cristiano
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on March 26, 2011, 03:16:16 pm
Thanks  ;D
Dashboard from BMW E36.
If someone needs wiring diagram I put here  ;)

Just ask !
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on March 27, 2011, 12:57:47 am
Here is wiring diagram and connectors:

(http://i67.servimg.com/u/f67/16/17/86/37/111.png)

(http://i67.servimg.com/u/f67/16/17/86/37/210.png)

(http://i67.servimg.com/u/f67/16/17/86/37/310.png)

(http://i56.servimg.com/u/f56/16/17/86/37/bmw_e312.jpg)

EDIT:

HOW TO - reset service interval indicator

                       BEFORE
(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/after10.png)

connect cluster to power (pic above 3 connectors)

connect pin 15 (blue connector - white-green wire) to ground (-) of cluster few sec (3-5)

turn power off

turn on

finished

                       AFTER
(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/before10.png)
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: bonjourno38 on April 12, 2011, 06:59:45 pm
Hello,

Finally, I'm going to buy M3 E36 dashboard. Can you give me the wiring diagrams please. I hope you have them....

Thanks, Bye.

Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on April 13, 2011, 12:03:44 am
Look post above  ;D
If you need some more info just ask !

p.s.
buy connector (blue,white and black) for cluster with 15-20 cm wires it make it easier work !!!
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: bonjourno38 on April 13, 2011, 07:01:53 pm
Hello,

I hope that the precedent wiring diagrams are the same for the M3 E36 cluster.....
Where can I buy the followings connectors ?

What is the price for that connectors ?

Thanks for your answer....
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on April 13, 2011, 08:58:14 pm
Hi
I think its same diagram but I will check.

(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/1996_b10.jpg)

I buy from same person when buy cluster  ;D but you can find on auto scrap.

EDIT:
Same wiring diagram for E36:318is,320i,325i,328i,M3 ...
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on April 18, 2011, 12:10:06 pm
Here is my BMW E36 dash but still in WIP (wait Pro Shift for lams)

http://youtu.be/oSeqG1dlTwg

Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on May 01, 2011, 10:42:28 am
News

Finally completed  ;D

(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/110.jpg)
(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/210.jpg)
(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/310.jpg)
(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/410.jpg)
(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/510.jpg)
(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/610.jpg)
(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/710.jpg)
(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/810.jpg)
(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/910.jpg)
(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/1010.jpg)
(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/1110.jpg)
(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/1210.jpg)
(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/1310.jpg)
(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/1410.jpg)
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: nescafe37 on May 01, 2011, 11:13:19 am
nice job matey...those pics where you replaced the bulbs with the leds will help a lot of people out ;)
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on May 01, 2011, 11:29:09 am
I know,that's why I put pictures  :)
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Mortos on May 01, 2011, 10:46:20 pm
That's a very clever method Jadran, thanks for the tip!   :D


Sadly, I already ordered bright white LED's intended to replace the backlight of my cluster. The Del Sol uses T5 bulbs for everything but the fuel warning, so they fit into the indicator sockets.

The problem with this approach is the colour of the indicators, red comes through as pink, and green is very bright. :(


If anyone is considering swapping the bulbs, I'd recommend Jadran's method. It's slightly more complex to fabricate, but the colours will be right, and you won't have to solder directly onto the original dashboard wiring.
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on May 02, 2011, 01:06:42 am
I buy this for all cluster bulb
http://cgi.ebay.com/100-pcs-5mm-Round-white-Superbright-LED-Light-20000MCD-/120650759032?pt=UK_BOI_Electrical_Components_Supplies_ET&hash=item1c17587b78 (http://cgi.ebay.com/100-pcs-5mm-Round-white-Superbright-LED-Light-20000MCD-/120650759032?pt=UK_BOI_Electrical_Components_Supplies_ET&hash=item1c17587b78)
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on May 16, 2011, 06:13:42 pm
UPDATE post #3
http://www.symprojects.com/forum/index.php?topic=38.msg114#msg114 (http://www.symprojects.com/forum/index.php?topic=38.msg114#msg114)
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: gauthier on May 27, 2011, 02:17:44 pm
Hello,

Magnifique installation!

I am trying to connect the REV Burner on the dashboard of a BMW E36, but it does not work ... :(
Can you take a photo of your connections if you like to save my life! lol

thank you in advance!
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on May 27, 2011, 04:04:39 pm
I hope this pic help  ;)

(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/dsc04413.jpg)

(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/dsc04414.jpg)
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: gauthier on May 28, 2011, 11:34:47 am
Thank you for the photos. I do not have the beam, so I connected directly to pins. I am based on the wiring diagram that you posted on page 1. But it's still not working: '(
Is what I have forgotten a power or ground ...?
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on May 28, 2011, 11:53:37 am
Maybe cluster has malfunction?
If you connect correctly as on pictures few post above must work!

p.s.
I change 2 cluster before I managed to work correctly  ;)
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: gauthier on May 28, 2011, 12:09:12 pm
I found the problem ;D. I tested my connections with the second card and it works!
Good news: it works ;D
bad news: one of the two cards do not work ... >:(
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on May 28, 2011, 12:19:38 pm
Good news:I'm glad that now works  ;)
Bad news:buy new card ;D
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Cristiano on May 28, 2011, 05:52:02 pm
I found the problem ;D. I tested my connections with the second card and it works!
Good news: it works ;D
bad news: one of the two cards do not work ... >:(

Hello.
Is one of the rev burners not working well?
if so, send me an email to contact@symprojects.com

Cheers
Cristiano
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: gauthier on May 29, 2011, 10:50:59 am
Hello Cristiano

I did the mail yesterday ;)

thank you very much
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: gauthier on June 12, 2011, 09:53:51 am
Hello,
I received the new card. It works! Thank you very much.

I'll post pictures once everything is in place ;)
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: papadu93 on August 10, 2011, 06:16:34 pm
bonjour j'adore ton travaille moi je me suis mis a me faire un compteur de bmw e36 mais voila je voudrait savoir tu a fait comment pour branché la carte au compteur de bmw e36

pourait tu faire un tuto simple car la ci moi ji arrive  pas je laisse tombé

mercis pour ton aide
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: gauthier on August 13, 2011, 09:17:31 am
Tu relies tout les "+" du compteur sur la borne "+" d'une carte et tout les "-" du compteur sur la borne "-" d'une carte. Tu relies les "+" des 2 cartes ensemble et les "-" des 2 cartes ensemble. Ensuite, tu relies le signal RPM à la borne signal de la carte RPM et le signal vitesse à la borne signal de la carte vitesse. Jadran a mis en ligne le plan pour les branchements mais je te le remets ici.
GND pour Ground, c'est le "-"
+12V, c'est le "+"

(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/bmw_e311.jpg)
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: papadu93 on August 15, 2011, 08:28:04 pm
salut a tous sa ne marche toujour pas j'ai mis comme il faut tout les +
tout les -
et le compteur ne s'allume pas ses moi je suis un gros con ou gogo
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on November 12, 2011, 04:31:39 pm
Little update  ;D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgXU5lYM7p4
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: gauthier on November 20, 2011, 09:01:45 am
Very nice! the fuel gauge and temperature gauge work ...? :o
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on November 20, 2011, 10:00:12 am
Work only lights for now  ;)
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: xtremdriver on December 01, 2011, 12:44:52 pm
HI

NICE HOULA BEAUTIFUL JOB(WORK) ;D
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Marcus0908 on December 10, 2011, 07:55:56 pm
Nice build mate, how did you get your fuel and temps working?
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on December 10, 2011, 09:49:04 pm
Hi,
Only lights for fuel and temp work (ProShift),I manually set up needles for now  ;D
Maybe Cristiano soon create a new hardware,I hope so  ;)
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: papadu93 on December 10, 2011, 10:59:59 pm
his koi ProShift you have a link or a tutorial
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on December 10, 2011, 11:17:01 pm
his koi ProShift you have a link or a tutorial
I don`t understand  "koi" ?
I think you requested this: http://www.symprojects.com/shop/pro-shift/
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: papadu93 on December 10, 2011, 11:23:19 pm
Good evening I found the 2 pin lights.

If I connect an on / off button on the clock to activate the LED, it activates the headlights of the game?
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on December 10, 2011, 11:26:53 pm
Yap  ;) but you must configure headlight button in game too
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: papadu93 on December 10, 2011, 11:32:04 pm
the meter bmw e36 I found the connection to the flagship alummé
and I voudrair button connected to a master meter that is connected to pc

and quantity I want alummé the lighthouse in a driving game.
I would like the LED on the meter it s'allumme
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: papadu93 on December 10, 2011, 11:34:57 pm
I would do the same for all the rest

and another question and you it provided a updated card for what rev burne j'aire fuel and temperature
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on December 10, 2011, 11:50:45 pm
I use DC Voltage Adjustable - LOKO Power SPS-250A for all (BMW E36 cluster & both RevBurner)


(http://i47.servimg.com/u/f47/16/17/86/37/loko_p10.jpg) (http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=306&u=16178637)

More here:

http://www.lokopower.com/english/Product_detail.asp?P_ID=6006617&F_ID=1000392

or

http://www.thiecom.de/sps250a.htm

Sorry if I misunderstood you but my English is not the best  ;D
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: left888 on December 11, 2011, 03:47:35 am
Great looking rig Jadran, looks like you have put a lot of work into it.
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: papadu93 on December 18, 2011, 09:02:18 am
Jadran dir you can make me or you have found the counter because I am looking also that
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: undifined1 on January 22, 2012, 09:19:47 pm
Thank you for the info im my tread,
But I don't get why I should connect more than one - and one + in Order to get the rev counter and the speedometer working as I think all +'s and -'s should all be connected internally, or am I wrong (quite likely )
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on January 22, 2012, 10:20:24 pm
The scheme for the E28 a little harder to read (at least to me).  ::)

If you want the whole cluster work (light, bulbs, service indicator ...)
all + should be connected together to 12V and all - should be connected together to ground as shown below

(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/dsc04414.jpg)

Perhaps without some wires can connect but I do not know it will work  ???  Try it  ::)

Maybe it would be better to move on E36  ;D
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: undifined1 on January 23, 2012, 10:13:35 am
I will order a rev burner when they are available again,

And test some stuff, First I just want the speed and rev counter working

I like the look of the e30 and e28 cluster more than the e36 one
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: piggington on November 07, 2012, 02:15:27 am
I hope this pic help  ;)
(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/dsc04414.jpg)

Do you have part numbers for the complete E36 cluster connectors?
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on November 07, 2012, 09:20:02 am
Look here:
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts.do?model=BK73&mospid=47477&btnr=61_1280&hg=61&fg=15

Look at the number of connectors 9 & 10

Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Wolfi M on November 09, 2012, 09:04:07 pm
Hello jadran

Thx for this great manual do use the BMW E36 cluster !!!!!

i have a little problem with the wire coulors !

My Cluster is from BMW e 36  318 is !!! And my Cluster is a VDO 88 311 220 from Year 3/94  is this different at yours ??

My speedmeter is the black/white wire on the blue connector right ?? And the RPM is the Black wire on the white connector right ??

but on your picture (http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/dsc04414.jpg) is the black for Speedmeter and the black/white for RPM !!!!!!


Please can u tell me which cuolors u connect to +12V and which to the -12V and what function have the other wire ??


If i connect the brown (blue Connector) and the brown/orange (white connector) wire to -12V and the grey/red (white connector) and green/blue (blue connector) to +12V the Instrumentlight is on and the digital Km/h and service is always on !!
What other function i can use with the other wire ??


Thx Wolfi

Sry fro my english :-) nice greets from Austria ;-)
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on November 10, 2012, 12:25:33 am
Hi

Just look post 4 on first page...all described there.
Don`t use wire color - just look pin from conectors...

 +12V you know  ;D and GND is -12V as you say

(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/bmw_e311.jpg)


All E36 cluster are the same but there are some differences between wiring the USA and EU cluster...
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Wolfi M on November 10, 2012, 11:53:27 am
hello

Thx for fast reply ...

But in my german manual of the pins are is the pin 20 on the white conector for RPM thats same on ur picture !!!

And the pin 2 on the blue connector is the speedmeter (call 2 Tacho A-signal)  in my german manual ??? on yours the Speedmeter is pin 4 on the blck connector thats the different that i can see and i can´t understand this different ?

This make me a little confused but i dont want distroy my cluster :-( if this is false pin for my speedmeter !!!

Here is the german manual about the pins http://www.motor-talk.de/attachment/503349/Kombi_Pin_Belegung.jpg
   http://www.motor-talk.de/forum/aktion/Attachment.html?attachmentId=503349

here some pictures of the same cluster that i use maybe its a little different but is german forum !
http://e36-talk.com/showthread.php?46609-Pinbelegung-Tacho
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on November 10, 2012, 04:41:22 pm
Hi
I just looked at the instructions for the 1994 year and everything is the same as in my cluster !

Here is manual for yout BMW e 36  318 is cluster:

(http://i47.servimg.com/u/f47/16/17/86/37/0110.png)

X16 White Connector
(http://i47.servimg.com/u/f47/16/17/86/37/111.png)


X17 Blue Connector
(http://i47.servimg.com/u/f47/16/17/86/37/212.png)

X271 Black Connector
(http://i47.servimg.com/u/f47/16/17/86/37/310.png)

At the bottom of each scheme you have tags for letters (E, A, G)





Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: piggington on November 23, 2012, 04:33:52 pm
Look here:
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts.do?model=BK73&mospid=47477&btnr=61_1280&hg=61&fg=15

Look at the number of connectors 9 & 10


Jardan - thanks for your help and pics posted in this thread! I was able to get my E36 cluster up and running out of the box!
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: papadu93 on December 01, 2012, 05:50:42 am
hello Jadran
I wonder if you can make me dir on the counter that you bmw emissions

can you me what these dir niveaut pin for fuel and engine temperature?

then you can count me dir any other card works with the rev burne?
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Wolfi M on May 29, 2013, 10:04:05 am
Hello Jadran

Maybe YOU can help me pls :-)

I use the NEW Progauge controller with the BMW E36 gauges ...

RPM and SPEED works perfect but i dont can find the right wire to USE for TEMP and FUEL any wire in your picture what is for this 2 gauges not work .

Maybe i must any -12V and +12V find do make it work but which one ? So maybe u can help me pls and u can say me what coulors or pins i need to bring that work !!

Thx Nice greets from AUstria :-)
Wolfi
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on May 29, 2013, 10:56:43 pm
 ;)

x16 (white connector) pin 21 is fuel consumption signal

x17 (blue connector) pin 18 is coolant temperature sensor


If you connected everything that I describe in this picture

(http://i27.servimg.com/u/f27/16/17/86/37/bmw_e311.jpg)

would have to work.....

p.s.
I have not ordered Pro Gauge controller yet so I do not know the details, but in all it should work

p.p.s.
Tell if it works  ;D

Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Wolfi M on May 31, 2013, 04:28:38 pm
Hello Jadran

Thx for your tip

The watertemp is now working but when it work the light on the cluster is darker.The FUEL not work with the x16 (white connector) pin 21 is fuel consumption signal
only the "moment fuel use gauge " under the RPM gauge is sometimes works but not right :-( all other pins for "FUEL" give me no result to work !

i dont can understand this at the Moment :-(


Other question about the light for cluster can i make it with an switch ? which wire or pins for the light !! Maybe i want make the Cluster Light with an extra Power Supply ....

Ps: The new Pro Gauge is nice REALLY 1000 Thx to Cristiano :-)

Thx nice greets from austria WOLFI :-)
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on May 31, 2013, 06:58:40 pm
Hi
About light switch for instrument panel connect (x16 white connector) pin 2 (grey/red wire) is instrument illumination power so you can connect switch for illumination
About fuel gauge I have 2 wires but not 100% sure how to connect,one is pin 3 on X271 (black connector) and second is pin 1 (this is output not input like vehicle speed or RPM) on same connector (black)

When ordering my Pro Gauge, I make the scheme how to connect all gauges if in the meantime someone doesn't do it earlier...
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Wolfi M on May 31, 2013, 08:35:19 pm
Hello

PIN4 is for Speedmeter and the other Pin1 and 3 is for Fuel but not work :-(
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: sammy4413 on June 12, 2013, 07:37:20 pm
Hi Jadran,

I have not found the wire temperature sensor motor and a petrol gauge or is it ?
to install with my Pro Gauge.


Thank you ;)
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: H.Guedes on June 12, 2013, 09:36:39 pm
Hi Jadran,

I have not found the wire temperature sensor motor and a petrol gauge or is it ?
to install with my Pro Gauge.


Thank you ;)

Hi we are all working on that. I have pro gauge too, and i'm trying figure out who to put temp and fuel gauge working
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: sammy4413 on June 12, 2013, 09:38:28 pm
Okay :)
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on October 05, 2013, 10:10:08 am
Few newer pictures

(http://i15.servimg.com/u/f15/16/17/86/37/dsc08516.jpg)

(http://i47.servimg.com/u/f47/16/17/86/37/dsc06217.jpg)

(http://i56.servimg.com/u/f56/16/17/86/37/dsc06210.jpg)

(http://i56.servimg.com/u/f56/16/17/86/37/dsc06211.jpg)

(http://i56.servimg.com/u/f56/16/17/86/37/dsc06212.jpg)

and movie  :)

http://youtu.be/hgXU5lYM7p4

http://youtu.be/pI7w_TfmFuQ




Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Max on October 12, 2013, 09:34:36 pm
Nice, i like the M gauges.

I have the orginal gauges, when I see an M gauge I will buy that one.
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: H.Guedes on October 12, 2013, 11:02:19 pm
It's a real m3 cluster or just plasma dials?

Btw, nice rig ;)
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: Jadran on October 13, 2013, 10:06:16 am
It's a real m3 cluster or just plasma dials?

Btw, nice rig ;)

THX,just plasma dials  ;D
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: H.Guedes on October 13, 2013, 10:38:15 am


THX,just plasma dials  ;D

Hum, Thanks.  I need some dials too for my cluster :D
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: probuff on November 11, 2015, 11:37:11 am
(http://i56.servimg.com/u/f56/16/17/86/37/bmw_e312.jpg)

So yea guys,

According to this picture I connected all the wires, but still cant make fuel/temp gauges to work.
I'm not sure why, but +12v connection might be a problem -

White - all the +12 wires (3 of them) made to one.
Blue - all the +12 wires (3 of them) made to one.
Then I made extension connect all of them to one again (6 of them now) and one wire to pro gauge (12v) itself and another one to power supply.

Did I made a mistake connecting them this way?

I noticed that water temp sometimes goes up to random position and stays there.

Anyone faced this problem? Thanks:)
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: H.Guedes on November 24, 2015, 11:56:08 am
(http://i56.servimg.com/u/f56/16/17/86/37/bmw_e312.jpg)

So yea guys,

According to this picture I connected all the wires, but still cant make fuel/temp gauges to work.
I'm not sure why, but +12v connection might be a problem -

White - all the +12 wires (3 of them) made to one.
Blue - all the +12 wires (3 of them) made to one.
Then I made extension connect all of them to one again (6 of them now) and one wire to pro gauge (12v) itself and another one to power supply.

Did I made a mistake connecting them this way?

I noticed that water temp sometimes goes up to random position and stays there.

Anyone faced this problem? Thanks:)

mine works fine. fuel and water temp. in the black connector i disconect the GND pin for work. But i will confirm at home.
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: probuff on December 15, 2015, 02:09:49 pm
Ok,
I'm still trying them to work. I got progress of some sort on water temp gauge. When I connect everything water temp needle does not move. I take out blue connector while 12v is plugged and put it back in. Only then water temp need starts to respond. I did scaling right now, but still cannot figure out why it works this way. Fuel gauge seems to not respond at all (black connector - one wire speed, other fuel, thats it)

--
Ok, I'll continue, maybe somebody will find it useful. My Fuel Gauge did not respond at all. I changed the bulb of this gauge (it was not working) and Fuel Gauge needle become alive. Also, this sorted out the problem with Water gauge and I do not need to pull out/in blue connector to get it working. If your water temperature needle goes up to max and do not go down while calibrating, then you need to set 100% gauge scaling much lower, unplug usb/power and try again.

My last problem with this is Fuel Gauge. When I do scaling at certain number (126) it goes all the way up and gets stuck there. Lower numbers do not move the needle.

Any suggestions?
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: MrSzyma on January 11, 2018, 07:26:09 pm
Hey man!

Awesome work!

I just have one question. Will be making something similar soon. I got my hands on a cluster from a 316i e36. I am unable to find a cluster pinout diagram for it. Was wondering if the 316i is same as the 318i? Don't want to fry my cluster haha :D.

Thanks in advance!

Regards, Szymon.
Title: Re: My cockpit build WIP
Post by: H.Guedes on February 26, 2018, 06:21:14 pm
Hey man!

Awesome work!

I just have one question. Will be making something similar soon. I got my hands on a cluster from a 316i e36. I am unable to find a cluster pinout diagram for it. Was wondering if the 316i is same as the 318i? Don't want to fry my cluster haha :D.

Thanks in advance!

Regards, Szymon.

Hey! it's the same pinout no worries.  :)  the only diference is for the M3 cluster because the pin of oil temp.