Author Topic: dual displays  (Read 3696 times)

mr.w

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
    • Email
dual displays
« on: November 01, 2012, 06:01:15 am »
So here is my question I have a GI Max and a SPI-D, they are great and I have built two custom pods for them, now I have  been doing a fair amount of F1 2012 on PC and I would like to add a gear and speedo on my F1 wheel.  Would it be possible to purchase your DLC displays without the DLC-247 and split the signal from the GI Max and the SPI-D to power and run the DLC displays mounted to the F1 wheel.  So ideally I am looking for a poor man's pro racer, if it comes down to it I will wait for the gauge board and maybe order the pro racer at the same time, but of course I am looking for a bit of a challenge.  Thanks in advance.

Cristiano

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1352
    • View Profile
    • SymProjects
    • Email
Re: dual displays
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2012, 06:37:59 pm »
Hello.

I am sorry but you can to that.
those displays are meant to work with the DLC-247.

Cristiano

mr.w

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: dual displays
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2012, 11:41:13 pm »
could I use generic 7 segment LED displays?

Cristiano

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1352
    • View Profile
    • SymProjects
    • Email
Re: dual displays
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2012, 03:37:47 pm »
could I use generic 7 segment LED displays?

maybe you can, but you would have to remove the exisitng display from the GI Max or SPI-D and connect yours.
probably technically is possible but I don't think it would be a neat job

mr.w

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: dual displays
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2012, 05:45:58 pm »
fair enough thanks for the info

mr.w

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: dual displays
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2013, 06:58:54 am »
could I use generic 7 segment LED displays?

maybe you can, but you would have to remove the exisitng display from the GI Max or SPI-D and connect yours.
probably technically is possible but I don't think it would be a neat job


would it be possible with a soldering iron? as I am considering switching to blue 7 segments displays now as well as splitting them

Cristiano

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1352
    • View Profile
    • SymProjects
    • Email
Re: dual displays
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2013, 04:41:42 pm »
could I use generic 7 segment LED displays?

maybe you can, but you would have to remove the exisitng display from the GI Max or SPI-D and connect yours.
probably technically is possible but I don't think it would be a neat job


would it be possible with a soldering iron? as I am considering switching to blue 7 segments displays now as well as splitting them

it could be possible but it is going to be very messy.
Personally I wouldn't even start.

mr.w

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: dual displays
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2013, 07:41:44 pm »
well I guess I will be spending some $$$$,  Pro race, the to be release board to run my other gauges and the in the future new and improved sim screen board.

 

hit counter